Permission schemes

A Permission Scheme consists of a set of permissions granted for one or more User Groups, and the scheme can then be assigned to specific Dictionaries or Sections. Users belonging to one or more User Groups with permissions assigned by Permission Schemes, will use the union of permissions. So if the User has access to Create Term from one User Group, and Edit Term from another User Group, they will be able to both create and edit terms in the specified Dictionaries or Sections.

To define your permission schemes, you click on the Permission Schemes icon in the Access control Administrator menu to open the Permission Schemes list. Click the +Add scheme button to create a new Permission scheme or the Edit scheme assignments button to manage which Permission schemes are assigned to which Dictionaries or Sections.

Users with the Administrator or System Administrator role will always have full access to all parts of the system and terminology data and are not affected by Permission Schemes.

Default Permission Scheme

The Default Permission Scheme is always available in TermWeb clients and is how TermWeb assigns permissions for Dictionaries or Sections with no active assignment. For this reason, the Default Permission Scheme can be edited but not removed. In the initial setup the default permission scheme is defined to allow all permissions to the "All Users" user group. From a security standpoint, it is recommended that all permissions be removed from the Default Permission Scheme so that users are only able to access Dictionaries or Sections that Administrators have actively provided access to. If the "All User" user group has the View Concept permission in the Default Permission Scheme, they will automatically be able to view any new dictionaries as soon as they are created.

Creating and Editing

To create a new permission scheme, click the Add Scheme button on the Permission Schemes list page. To edit an existing scheme click the blue highlighted name of the desired Permission Scheme. These actions will open the Permission Scheme Details page. You can also copy an entire scheme by using the Copy scheme link available via the ellipsis (three dots) button to the right of the Permission scheme name.

Every scheme requires a unique name for identification. It is optional but also recommended that you enter a Description of the scheme.

You can then define which groups should be granted permissions. For each listed permission you can add one or more group that should be granted the permission. Click on "Add group" to get a drop-down list of the available user groups, and select the desired group. To remove a group from a permission, click on the delete icon to the right of the group.

Permissions

Some permissions have dependencies on other permissions. For example, a user cannot edit a concept which they cannot view. So even if the user has Edit Concept permission, they will not be able to access the Concept unless they also have View Concept. The available permissions with dependencies are described in the table below.

Permission Description Depends on

View Concept

User can view concepts

Create Concept

User can create new concepts

View Concept, Create Term (for at least one section in the current dictionary)

Edit Concept

User can edit the current concept

View Concept (and at least one of Edit Concept Level Fields, Create Term, Edit Term or Delete Term to be able to make any changes)

Delete Concept

User can delete the current concept

View Concept

Edit Concept Level Fields

User can edit fields on the concept level in a concept

Create Concept or Edit Concept

Create Term

User can create a new term in a concept

Create Concept or Edit Concept

Edit Term

User can edit an existing term in a concept

Edit Concept

Delete Term

User can delete an existing term in a concept

Edit Concept

View Concept History

User can view the history for a concept. Restoring from history is allowed if user has permission Edit Concept.

View Concept

Import Concepts

User can import concepts from file

See Importing using Permission Schemes

Export Concepts

User can export concepts to file

View Concept

When importing you may need additional permissions granted depending on your import settings. See Importing using Permission Schemes for more information.

Assign Permission Schemes

When you have defined your permission scheme you can assign it to Dictionaries or Sections. Click the "Edit scheme assignments" button on the Permission Schemes list page to open the Assign Permission Schemes page.

Next to the blue "Add:" text you will find a dropdown list with all Dictionaries and Sections in your TermWeb client. Select a combination of the "(All sections)" or individual Sections to create an assignment. You can delete an existing assignment by clicking the delete icon to the right of the scheme drop-down list.

If no scheme is assigned for a specific section in a dictionary, the scheme assigned to "(All sections)" for the dictionary will be applied. If no scheme is assigned for "All sections", then the default permission scheme will be applied. This means, by priority, Permission schemes assigned to Sections will supercede Permission Schemes assigned to (All sections).

Importing using Permission Schemes

When term data is imported with Permission Schemes enabled, the same permissions are enforced as for manual editing.

This means, that besides allowing the Import permission in the scheme, some other permissions should also be granted depending on what the users should be able to do during the import operation.

The table below describes what permissions are needed for different import and synchronization cases:

Import type Synchronization type Permissions needed (for type of change)

Import as new

N/A

Create Concept (for importing new concepts)

Import with concept synchronization (on concept ID or index term)

Replace old concept

Create Concept and Delete Concept (all changes)

Overwrite parts

Edit Concept (all changes)
Edit Concept Level Fields (for changes to concept level fields)

Create Term and Delete Term (for all changes to non-synchronized terms)

Edit Term (for changes to synchronized terms)

Merge parts

Edit Concept (all changes)
Edit Concept Level Fields (for changes to concept level fields)

Create Term (for all changes to non-synchronized terms)

Edit Term (for changes to synchronized terms)

Fill in parts

Edit Concept (all changes)

Edit Concept Level Fields (for changes to concept level fields)

Edit Term (for changes to synchronized terms)